Promote your events and press releases in Sheffield for FREE! Forgotten Password? | Register | Login
23 Reviews

Reviews : Yankees

Yankees

Reviews for Yankees of Sheffield

"Yankees" of Sheffield has a total of 23 reviews with an average score of 4.5

Rate 0

Review by CDW

Rating:

Added On:
5th, Aug 2013

Business:
Yankees

Visited last Friday & the menu had changed again. Hot dogs & salads have gone (unsurprisingly) but so has the enchiladas (my partner loved their veggie one). Prices have also crept up (ribs have rocketed by 3 overnight!) & so now their prices nudge those of 'proper' restaurants. The problem is, I don't think Yankees has the quality ingredients nor ambience of other restaurants to justify the price. What made the place successful was that it was a quick 'informal' tasty meal & gave value for money. Frozen chips, bought-in cheese sauce & indifferent service no longer cuts it at these prices. For some time now the quality has become inconsistent. What makes me such an expert?? I've been coming here for nearly 30 yrs but for some time now, I've started to consider uncle sam's instead. Get back to core values, Yankees

Rate +1

Review by milly

Rating:

Added On:
11th, Nov 2012

Business:
Yankees

I ALWAYS enjoy this place. I love the really relaxed atmosphere, it's the perfect hangover cure :)

Rate +1

Review by jeff bloom

Rating:

Added On:
16th, Oct 2012

Business:
Yankees

I used to take my wife there when we first met. I actually lived about 10 houses away in a shared house and we sometimes woke at 12pm and had the special cheeseburger fopr breakfast :)

For some reason they have stopped doing the large burger size and although the chips are perfection, the portions need to be larger :)

Plus more cheese sauce cos you can't get enough of this :))

Yankees big up the portions as they are not as big as they used to be!

Rate +1

Review by Robert Snodgrass

Rating:

Added On:
12th, Sep 2012

Business:
Yankees

This place is an institution, the holy grail of bugers. I agree with all the reviews as well regarding the cheese sauce, that stuff is special :)

Rate +1

Review by David

Rating:

Added On:
7th, Sep 2012

Business:
Yankees

Like the new website, looks really smart!

Come here regularly, always brilliant, would certainly recommend.

Rate +4

Review by CDW

Rating:

Added On:
3rd, Apr 2012

Business:
Yankees

Love this place & have been coming here since my parents brought me as a kid (I'm 40 next month!). In that time, i've probably sampled most of the menu many times & the cheeseburgers were always my favourite. But they've now changed them - no more halfpounders, but now something inbetween a 1/4 & 1/2 lb?! & they're now scr**ping on the cheese sauce! AND they've removed my partner's favourite Burritos in favour of...a 6.50 hotdog??! Eh?! The food is still quality & VFM but PLEASE bring back the 1/2 lb burger & Burritos....

Rate +1

Review by Alex Nye

Rating:

Added On:
31st, Mar 2012

Business:
Yankees

Love it! As a student I live nearby so everytime the loan comes in we treat ourselves to a Yankees feast!

Rate 0

Review by Al Stevens

Rating:

Added On:
19th, Feb 2012

Business:
Yankees

Been going to Yankees since I first met my wife 33 yrs ago. The food has always been excellent and the burgers are simply the best ive ever had. Unfortunately I wont be going back and heres the reason why! Took my wife,daughter and grandaughter there yesterday 5.30ish. There were 2 x 6 seater tables vacant (and were not pre bookes). Told that we couldnt have the seats as its policy to keep them for larger parties and that we would have to wait 30mins or so. Now I dont mind waiting but object when there are tables available, if Yankees want to lose 4 customers on the chance that 6 may turn up, well good luck. Incidentaly went down to Uncle Sams, every table taken, waited 20 mins and had a great meal. Yankees youve lost a loyal customer because of a stupid rule,

Rate 0

Review by Anita

Rating:

Added On:
11th, Jan 2012

Business:
Yankees

I actually fell in love with this place during my time as a student in sheffield, their burgers are just the best!

Rate 0

Review by Martyn Pike

Rating:

Added On:
4th, Jan 2012

Business:
Yankees

All I can say is; cheese sauce, cheese sauce, cheese sauce! Make sure you have it!

Rate +1

Review by ben johnson

Rating:

Added On:
27th, Sep 2011

Business:
Yankees

every time i go I seem to eat excessively because the food is soooo good!

Rate +1

Review by Sylo G

Rating:

Added On:
15th, Mar 2011

Business:
Yankees

This place is da bomb!!! There burgers are the hottest in sheffield!!!!

Rate 0

Review by Emily

Rating:

Added On:
8th, Mar 2011

Business:
Yankees

I love this place I have been going for years. I have started to take my friends and they too love it. The cheese sauce is to die for it's defiantly the best cheese sauce I've ever had. The milkshakes are great too

Rate 0

Review by Phil Wood

Rating:

Added On:
6th, Mar 2011

Business:
Yankees

I love the informal friendly atmosphere, I love the burgers and the cheese sauce, this restaurant seems unchanged since I started using it in 1979. When I make the 300 mile trip to Sheffield Yankees is always my first stop. I just wish it was closer!

Rate -2

Review by Kim Davies

Rating:

Added On:
7th, Oct 2010

Business:
Yankees

Always a favourite but what a shame about the lunchtime 'special'!! 5.99 gets you "Half a 10" Pizza, a wine or Cola, Salad and Coleslaw". Sounds perfect... except they really skimped as if they didn't want anyine to go for the 'special' at all.
The pizza was actually 1/3 a 10" pizza; conspicuouly NOT half a circle!! (Sorry guys but some things are just so obvious!!). The glass of wine wasn't a full measure either.
All felt a bit wrong somehow.
Great food, but please Yankees, don't try to short-change your regulars!! I'm a student who's evidently as hard up as you are!!

Rate +1

Review by Gilly Wrape

Rating:

Added On:
23rd, Jul 2010

Business:
Yankees

I absolutely LOVE this place.
i have been coming for years with my friends and some how it always gets better. there is always a cheerful atmosphere which puts the cherry on the top in my opinion

5*'s all the way!

Rate 0

Review by Tony 'Two slurps' Foster

Rating:

Added On:
16th, Jun 2010

Business:
Yankees

It is good if you like burgers and chips, but if you're looking for somewhere classy, this isnt the best place to go. however, the food was really nice and would be a good place to take your kids for a meal

Rate 0

Review by Joe77

Rating:

Added On:
4th, Jun 2010

Business:
Yankees

I've just had food here with my wife and son, and the atmosphere is just great. The burgers were really good too!

Rate 0

Review by Tina Niles

Rating:

Added On:
11th, Jan 2010

Business:
Yankees

Anyone who visits here has got to try the cheese sauce on the burgers its amazing!

Rate 0

Review by Rich78

Rating:

Added On:
11th, Jan 2010

Business:
Yankees

What a great atmosphere this place still has, me and my wife have been going years and this place always makes me leave feeling full of enjoyment!

Rate 0

Review by Tim

Rating:

Added On:
12th, Nov 2009

Business:
Yankees

Typical American style Diner, nice food but the place just seemed to be lacking something

Rate 0

Review by Helena

Rating:

Added On:
8th, Nov 2009

Business:
Yankees

I was a student in Sheffield in the 80s and this was always one of our favourite places to eat.

I was delighted to see it was still goiong strong when I came back recently on a day trip with work. Made a point of coming for my lunch and it still has the same atmosphere.

Great value and great place.

Rate 0

Review by spence83

Rating:

Added On:
4th, Nov 2009

Business:
Yankees

This restaurant has been in sheffield for years, and every single time i go in i really enjoy the food & atmosphere! this is a top bar/restaurant for american/mexican/italian style food!!

Add Review

Please read our T&Cs before posting your review. Reviews will only be accepted with valid email addresses.

1 = Very Poor, 2 = Poor, 3 = Average, 4 = Good, 5 = Excellent 0 stars

Security Code

Security Code is Case Sensitive & contains NO Spaces

CAPTCHA image sould be here